Home Agency Information Informacion En Espanol License Searches Contact Us / Feedback Forms Consumer Information Investigations Licensing & Contractor Info Residential Recovery Fund Related Links NSCB News & Updates Construction Education

 

Guide to Contracting for a Pool or Spa

Only Hire A Licensed Contractor

State law requires that anyone contracting to construct a residential swimming pool or spa be properly licensed by the Nevada State Contractors Board. People who hire an unlicensed contractor to save money often end up spending more in the long run. The following checklist will be helpful when you decide to have your swimming pool built.

  • Make sure the contractor and any subcontractors are licensed with the Nevada State Contractors Board.
  • Ask to see their license pocket card. Contact the Board to verify a license number.
  • Get at least three written bids. Be cautious of special deals or any bid that sounds too good to be true.
  • Ask for references from both the contractor and any subcontractors that would be hired.
  • Ask for financial references.
  • Insist that you approve all completed plans prior to the start of work.
  • Negotiate a clear contract. Put everything in writing, and avoid verbal promises. Put all changes in writing.
  • Never pay the full payment up-front. Set up a payment schedule, and pay as work is completed.
  • Before construction begins, make sure your contractor obtains the proper permits. Do not take out or pull permits in your name.
  • Never sign off for completion until all work has been completed.
  • Do a walk through with the contractor before signing off on the project.

Laws Designed To Protect You

The Nevada Legislature has enacted laws designed to protect homeowners when contracting for a swimming pool. All contracts for residential pools or spas in excess of $1,000 must be in writing and contain the following:

  • Plan and scale drawing of the shape and size.
  • Contractor and owner’s name and project information.
  • Start date and approximate completion date.
  • An agreement to provide a written schedule for starting and completing each phase of the project (completion not to exceed 30 days for each phase).
  • Description and corresponding dollar amount of work to be performed.
  • Amount of advance deposit or down payment not to exceed $1,000 or 10% of aggregate contract price, whichever is less.
  • Payment cannot exceed the value of work performed or materials supplied.
  • Agreement that the contractor will provide full and unconditional lien releases to the owner after completion and payment for each stage of the project.
  • Agreement to promptly pay subcontractors and suppliers after each phase is completed.

For a complete copy of the regulations, contact the Nevada State Contractors Board at:

Southern Nevada:

Address: 2310 Corporate Circle, Ste 200
Henderson, NV 89074
Phone: (702) 486-1100
Fax: (702) 486-1190

Northern Nevada:

Address: 5390 Kietzke Lane, Ste 102
Reno, NV 89511
Phone:(775) 688-1141
Fax:(775) 688-1271

Hours of Operation

Monday - Friday
8:00am - 5:00pm

Check A Contractor Out First

You can get information about any licensed Nevada contractor, 24 hours a day by either calling the Nevada State Contractors Board’s 24-hour Information Line, or by visiting our website at: www.nscb.state.nv.us

To use our automated information line, all you need is a touch-tone phone.
Call (702) 486-1100 in Southern Nevada, or (775) 688-1141 in Northern Nevada.
You can have a report faxed directly to you by following the instructions on the main menu.

Getting the information you need has never been easier!

It Is Your Right To Know

Your contractor is required by Nevada state law to provide you with a complete list of subcontractors and materials suppliers involved in your pool project at the time of the contract.