KENNY C. GUINN Governor

MEMBERS
Michael Zech, Chairman
Douglas W. Carson
Margaret Cavin
David W. Clark
Jerry Higgins

Dennis K. Johnson

Randy Schaefer

State Of Nevada



STATE CONTRACTORS BOARD NEWS RELEASE

Reply To:

LAS VEGAS
2310 Corporate Circle, Suite 200
Henderson, Nevada 89074
(702) 486-1100
Fax (702) 486-1190
Investigations: (702) 486-1110

www.nscb.state.nv.us

RENO

9670 Gateway Drive, Suite 100 Reno, Nevada 89511 (775) 688-1141 Fax (775) 688-1271

Investigations: (775) 688-1150

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

8-Aug-02

Contact: Sonya Ruffin, APR (702) 486-1100 x1139 or (775) 688-1141 x1139

CONTRACTORS BOARD CRIMINAL CITATIONS FOR JULY

(Southern Nevada)

During the month of July, the Nevada State Contractors Board investigated 94 complaints of unlicensed contractors in Southern Nevada. Charges of contracting without a license have been filed against 31 individuals.

The following individuals were convicted or plead guilty in Justice Court for contracting without a license:

Avendano, George d.b.a. Majestic Construction	Felony charges filed
Bocanegra, Omar d.b.a. Omars Allphase Construction, License #46334	\$1,500 fine and \$406 investigative costs.
Bothwell, Kirk	\$500 fine and \$357 Investigative costs.
Bothwell, Kirk	\$500 fine and \$464 Investigative costs.
Calderon, Ernestino	\$250 fine and \$209.20 Investigative costs.
Syphus, Gary d.b.a. Genesis Horticulture	\$671.18 Investigative costs.
McBride, Steven d.b.a. SC McBride General Builder, License # 41385	\$416 investigative costs.
Mitchell, Larry, d.b.a. Mitchells' Maintenance	\$200 fine and \$494 Investigative costs.
Patino, Jose	2 days Jail time.

Rumpf, David	\$500 fine and \$322 Investigative costs.
Stern, Chuck d.b.a. Arrow Sign Company, License # 53419	\$2,000 fine and \$470 investigative costs.
Tipple, Douglas d.b.a. Radian Communications, BMS Communications Services, LeBlanc Broadcasting, License # 53074	\$6,000 fine and \$750 investigative costs.

NRS 624 makes contracting without a license a Misdemeanor for the first offense, a Gross Misdemeanor for the second offense, and a Class E Felony for the third offense.

#