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RESIDENTIAL RECOVERY FUND SUBCOMMITTEE
AWARDS OVER $394,000 TO DAMAGED HOMEOWNERS

RENO and HENDERSON, Nev. — The Nevada State Contractors Board’s Residential Recovery
Fund Subcommittee awarded over $394,000 to homeowners harmed by licensed contractors at its
January 30 meeting. The Subcommittee heard 33 claims, including 16 against Home Masters and

eight against MC Mojave Construction, LLC.

The 16 Home Masters victims received a total of approximately $128,144 — an average of more than
$8,000 per claim. The Contractors Board revoked the company’s carpentry, refrigeration and air
conditioning, roofing and siding, painting and decorating, and residential and small commercial
licenses in October 2018. At that time Home Masters was found in violation of several of Nevada’s
building laws and regulations, including abandoning a construction project, failure to comply with the
terms of a contract, failure to establish financial responsibility and substandard workmanship.

The eight claimants against MC Mojave were awarded $162,206 — nearly $20,300 per victim. The
company’s residential and small commercial, and plumbing and heating licenses were revoked in
August 2018 for abandoning a construction project, failure to comply with the terms of a contract,
failure to pay for materials or services, substandard workmanship, failure to comply with a notice to

correct and other violations.

Since the beginning of the fiscal year on July 1, 2018, the Recovery Fund Subcommittee has awarded
nearly $600,000 to harmed homeowners.
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“The vast majority of Nevada’s licensed contractors are competent and diligent, but sometimes
problems can arise,” warns NSCB Executive Officer Margi Grein. “Owners of single-family residences
should always use licensed Nevada contractors for home repair or improvement projects to give
themselves the Board'’s full protection. Anyone who hires unlicensed people to perform work are not
eligible for the Recovery Fund.”

The Recovery Fund is available to Nevada owners of single-family residences who conduct business
with licensed contractors for the performance of any construction, remodeling, repair or
improvement project. Owners must occupy the residence to qualify. An applicant’s eligibility to
receive funds is determined after an investigation is conducted by NSCB. The State Legislature
established the fund in 1999 to give homeowners additional protections. It has since awarded more

than $11 million to financially harmed individuals since its inception.

Nevada Revised Statutes 624.520 requires contractors performing residential work to provide
homeowners information regarding the Residential Recovery Fund in the residential contract.

The Nevada State Contractors Board is committed to protecting the public’s health, safety, and welfare
through licensing and regulation of the construction industry. Under Nevada Revised Statutes, a licensee is
subject to disciplinary action by the Board for failure to comply with the requirements of the laws or
regulations governing contractors. Violations may result in Board action against the contractor’s license. The
State Contractors Board has the power to regulate contractors and discipline licensees who violate NRS 624.
Disciplinary action may consist of a fine of up to $10,000 per offense, order corrective action, suspension,
revocation or other action.

###
MEDIA NOTE: Attached images of the Recovery Fund meeting held today are for media use only.
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