

Contact: Art Nadler, Public Information Officer (702) 486-1100 x1139 or (775) 688-1141 x1139

<u>Five Unlicensed Southern Nevada Contractors</u> Cited By Undercover Contractors Board Criminal Investigators

Five unlicensed contractors, who thought they could skirt the law without being licensed, recently knocked on the wrong door and were surprised to discover that the homeowner was an undercover Nevada State Contractors Board criminal investigator.

Richard Thompson, dba Handyman USA, had been advertising his painting services in a local Las Vegas newspaper. Thompson provided a bid of \$2,700, including labor and materials. The Board investigator then provided him with a criminal citation for *contracting* without a license and unlawful advertising.

Joaquim Figueiredo, dba Area Handyman Services, LLC., submitted a painting bid for \$2,500, including labor and materials. He thought he had the job, until a Board investigator handed him a criminal citation for *contracting without a license* and *unlawful advertising*.

Erik Gabriel Lopez-Bacilio, dba Professional Lawn Services, had been distributing his business cards around town and advertising his landscaping services. Lopez-Bacilio submitted a bid of \$2,712 for a landscape project. He was quickly handed a criminal citation for *contracting without a license* and *unlawful advertising*.

Steven M. Rose, dba Rose Painting, advertised his painting and drywall services on Craig's List. After discussing a painting job, he submitted a bid of \$2,000 to paint the exterior of the home. The Board requested a warrant from the Clark County District Attorney's Office on the charges.

William G. Wilson Sr., dba Handyman I Am, was advertising in a local newspaper that he could do small remodels. He submitted a verbal bid of \$2,000 for the patio kit and \$400 for installation. Wilson was immediately cited for *submitting a bid without a license* and *unlawful advertising*.

"Unlicensed contractors hurt the economy and pose a serious liability for the people who hire them" said Margi Grein, Executive Officer of the Nevada State Contractors Board. "These stings are done in an effort to free our neighborhoods of unlicensed contractors, who prey on innocent consumers".

The NSCB urges consumers to check whether a contractor is licensed by calling: (702) 486-1100 in Southern Nevada, or (775) 688-1141 in Northern Nevada. License checks can also be conducted on the NSCB website at: www.nscb.state.nv.us

Contracting without a license in Nevada is a misdemeanor for the first offense, a gross misdemeanor for the second offense and a Class E felony for the third offense.

Homeowners who use unlicensed contractors are not eligible for the Residential Recovery Fund, and by law their contracts are null and void.