

Contact: Art Nadler, Public Information Officer (702) 486-1100 x1139 or (775) 688-1141 x1139

<u>Northern Nevada Unlicensed Contractors Discover The Consequences</u> <u>Of Advertising Their Services Without Being Licensed</u>

Several unlicensed Northern Nevada contractors, who advertised their illicit services in local publications and on Craig's List, got more than they bargained for when their would-be customer turned out to be a Nevada State Contractors Board criminal investigator.

John W. Willey of Coleville, CA, dba Wiley and Son's Handyman, was advertising his "many trades," in the Gardnerville newspaper when he was stung on a \$2,877.50 painting bid. Willey enlisted the services of two other men to visit the jobsite and give the information to him. He then submitted a bid via e-mail. Willey was issued a criminal citation for *contracting without a license*.

Travis Olson, dba Signature Home Maintenance, said he recently moved to Reno from Arizona and claimed he didn't know it was against the law in Nevada to do electrical work without a license. He was advertising his "handyman services" on Craig's List. After submitting an electrical bid for \$70, he was issued a criminal citation for *contracting without a license*.

-- more –

Rodrigo Manguez-Encisco, dba as Mr. Fix It All Home Repair & Improvements, was advertising on his business card to do roofing, plumbing, bathroom and kitchen remodeling, painting, landscaping, drywall, carpentry, electrical, sprinkler repairs, house cleaning and maintenance. He submitted a \$200 electrical bid to an NSCB investigator, and was issued a criminal citation for *contracting without a license*.

All three unlicensed contractors were encouraged to become properly licensed contractors. "These stings should serve as warnings that the NSCB is serious about cracking down on unlicensed contractors," said Margi Grein, Executive Officer for the Board. "Consumers should not be taken in by promises of cheap work performed by unlicensed contractors. In reality it may cost more, and the consumer is left with little or no protection.

"It is important for consumers to check the license status of any company they wish to hire at our website: **www.nscb.state.nv.us**," she added.

Contracting without a license in Nevada is a misdemeanor for the first offense, a gross misdemeanor for the second offense and a Class E felony for the third offense. Homeowners who use unlicensed contractors are not eligible for the Residential Recovery Fund, and by law their contracts are null and void.

"Unlicensed contractors can cost consumers thousands of dollars. They carry no insurance, are not bonded and have not met any standards of the trade they may be performing," Grein said. "Enforcement stings conducted by NSCB are helping to rid our neighborhoods of these unscrupulous people."

-- more --

Consumers can check whether a contractor is licensed by calling: (702) 486-1100 in Southern Nevada, or (775) 688-1141 in Northern Nevada. License checks can also be conducted on the NSCB website at: **www.nscb.state.nv.us**

###