Art Nadler, Public Information Officer (702) 486-1100 x1139 or (775) 688-1141 x1139

Winter Months Attract Scam Artists

The Nevada State Contractors Board is warning homeowners to beware of fall and winter scam artists who offer "good deals" on heating repairs, roof repairs, painting and remodeling, driveway sealing, and various other types of home repairs.

Homeowners, especially senior citizens, are routinely approached by door-to-door scam artists looking to make a quick sale. These unlicensed contractors usually say they are in the neighborhood and can give you a great price on leftover materials. Often, they ask for full or cash payments up front. The Nevada State Contractors Board offers these 10 tips to protect yourself:

- 1. Hire only licensed contractors.
- 2. Check the contractor's license number by calling the Nevada State Contractors Board at (702) 486-1100 in Southern Nevada, or (775) 688-1141 in Northern Nevada.
- 3. Get three references and review past work.
- 4. Get at least three bids.
- 5. Get a written contract and do not sign anything until you completely understand the terms.

- 6. Pay 10 percent down or \$1,000, whichever is less, if a deposit is required.
- 7. Don't let payments get ahead of the work. Keep a record of all payments.
- 8. Don't make a final payment until you are satisfied with the job.
- 9. Don't pay cash.
- 10. Keep a job file of all papers relating to your project.

Contacting without a license in Nevada is a misdemeanor for the first offense, a gross misdemeanor for the second offense and a Class E felony for the third offense.

Homeowners should not use unlicensed contractors because their work is generally poor quality, they are often uninsured and may not maintain workman's compensation coverage for their employees, and the homeowner may be liable for all injuries to workers. Homeowners who use unlicensed contractors are not eligible for the Residential Recovery Fund, and by law their contracts are null and void.

Consumers can check whether a contractor is licensed by calling: (702) 486-1100 in Southern Nevada, or (775) 688-1141 in Northern Nevada. License checks can also be conducted on the NSCB website at: www.nscb.state.nv.us by clicking on the "Contractor License Search & Disciplinary Actions Search" icon.