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Unlicensed Northern Nevada Contractor Arrested  
On Kansas Child Pornography Warrant 

 

 The Nevada State Contractors Board recently received information of an 

unlicensed contractor named Michael Packett working in the Reno area, who was also a 

possible fugitive on child pornography charges in Kansas. The NSCB, working with the 

Reno Police Department, conducted a sting operation in which Packett submitted a bid 

for $1,200 to construct a deck and repair and paint a fence. 

 Packett, aka John Paul Storey and Wesley T. Story, was arrested by the Reno 

Police on fugitive child pornography charges from Kansas and also for contracting 

without a license. Storey is currently in the Washoe County jail awaiting extradition back 

to Kansas. 

 The NSCB is committed to protecting homeowners in Nevada and ensuring that 

contractors are properly licensed before they enter a homeowner’s property. 

Contracting without a license in Nevada is a misdemeanor for the first offense, a 

gross misdemeanor for the second offense and a Class E felony for the third offense. 

Homeowners should not use unlicensed contractors because their work is  
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generally poor quality, they are often uninsured and may not maintain workman’s  

compensation coverage for their employees, and the homeowner may be liable for all 

injuries to workers.  

Homeowners who use unlicensed contractors are not eligible for the Residential 

Recovery Fund, and by law their contracts are null and void.  

Consumers can check whether a contractor is licensed by calling: (702) 486-1100 

in Southern Nevada, or (775) 688-1141 in Northern Nevada. License checks can also be 

conducted on the NSCB website at: www.nscb.state.nv.us 

   

The NSCB urges consumers to follow these simple tips when dealing with a contractor: 
 
• Hire only licensed contractors. Ask to see the license. 

• Don’t rush into decisions or hire without checking out potential contractors. 

• Be especially wary when approached by someone offering home improvements door-to door. 

• Verify the contractor’s licensed by checking online at www.nscb.state.nv.us or via automated 

phone service at (702) 486-1100 (Southern Nevada), or (775) 688-1141 (Northern Nevada). 

• Ensure the contractor is properly licensed for the work you want done on your home. 

• Limit the amount of your down payment or deposit to 10 percent of the total contract. 

• Don’t pay cash without obtaining signed receipts, and don’t let the payments get ahead of the 

work. 
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