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NSCB TOP 10 FUGITIVE ARRESTED 

 
Patrick Silva, one of the Nevada State Contractors Board’s Ten Most Wanted, 

was apprehended July 15, 2005. Wanted by the NSCB for misdemeanor charges 

of Contracting without a License, Unlawful Advertising, and a felony charge for 

Diversion of Funds, Mr. Silva was arrested by Henderson police. Silva, who 

entered into contracts for home-remodeling, had arrest warrants totaling $15,500 

with Henderson and Las Vegas Justice Courts. 

 

Unlicensed contracting is a crime in Nevada. The first offense is a Misdemeanor, the second a Gross 

Misdemeanor, and the third is a Class E Felony. 

 

The Nevada State Contractors Board warns homeowners to hire only licensed contractors. Homeowners 

may check that a contractor that they are considering is licensed on the Web at www.nscb.state.nv.us or 

by contacting the agency by phone at (702) 486-1100 (Southern Nevada) and (775) 688-1411 (Northern 

Nevada). 

The NSCB urges consumers to follow these simple tips when dealing with a contractor: 

1. Hire only licensed contractors. Ask to see the license. 
2. Don’t rush into decisions or hire without checking out potential contractors. 
3. Be especially wary when approached by someone offering home 

improvements door-to-door. 
4. Verify the contractor’s licensed by checking online at www.nscb.state.nv.us or 

via automated phone service at 702-486-1100 (Las Vegas) or 775-688-1141 
(Reno). 

5. Ensure the contractor is properly licensed for the work you want done on 
your home. 
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6. Limit the amount of your down payment or deposit to 10% of the total 
contract. 

7. Don’t pay cash without obtaining signed receipts and don’t let the payments 
get ahead of the work. 

8. Require lien releases from all contractors and sub-contractors as the work is 
completed and at the end of the project. 

9. Get at least three bids, check references, and get a written contract. 
10. Contact the NSCB if you have a complaint against a contractor. 
11. Get three bids, check references and get a written contract. 
12. Contact the NSCB if you have a complaint against a contractor. 
 

 
The Nevada State Contractors Board is committed to protecting the public’s health, safety, and welfare through licensing and 
regulation of the construction industry. Under Nevada Revised Statutes, a licensee is subject to disciplinary action by the 
Board for failure to comply with the requirements of the laws or regulations governing contractors.   Violations may result in 
Board action against the contractor’s license.  The State Contractors Board has the power to regulate contractors and 
discipline licensees who violate NRS 624.  Disciplinary action may consist of a fine of up to $10,000 per offense, order 
corrective action, suspension, revocation or other action. 
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