Cautionary Tip

If you have a workmanship concern that is not being addressed by your contractor, you can file a complaint with the Contractors Board. If the work in question does not pose a safety hazard, filing a complaint before hiring another contractor to correct the problem will allow the Board investigator to inspect and validate the complaint.

If the work is already corrected, it becomes more difficult for the investigator to assess the validity of the original workmanship issue.

However, if you are faced with an emergency repair situation that cannot wait, please take appropriate actions to have the matter fixed immediately. You may still file a complaint and the Board will perform its investigation.



About the Board

The Nevada State Contractors Board (NSCB) governs contractor licensing for the State's construction industry. Contact us for information you need about a contractor's license and bond.

The Board also has important consumer information and complaint forms that can be downloaded or sent to you by calling one of the Board's offices.

Get information from NSCB before you:

- Hire a contractor.
- Sign a contract.
- Pay for work and repairs.

Visit our website to learn more about the Residential Recovery Fund.





Southern Nevada

8400 W. Sunset Rd. Suite 150 Las Vegas NV 89113 Phone: 702-486-1100 Fax: 702-486-1190

Northern Nevada

f y

5390 Kietzke Lane Suite 102 Reno, NV 89511 Phone: 775-688-1141 Fax: 775-688-1271

If you believe the contractor you hired has performed substandard work, you may file a complaint with NSCB. Complaint forms can be downloaded from our website at: www.nscb.nv.gov or obtained at one of our offices.



How To File A Complaint



Measure up...use licensed contractors.



NSCB's Investigative Process

File a Complaint If...

- · There are workmanship concerns.
- A contractor has abandoned a project.
- A contractor is believed to have violated NRS 624 (construction laws).
- Mechanic's liens are filed on a residence after payment was made to the contractor.
- A supplier/vendor hasn't been paid for materials delivered.
- An unlicensed contractor is bidding or performing work that requires a license.
- You think the Board can assist.

Filing A Complaint

- Download the complaint form(s) online at: www.nscb.nv.gov, under "Forms."
- Contact the Board to receive a hard copy complaint form.
- Report unlicensed contracting through the Board's mobile application.

After Filing A Complaint...

- A Board investigator will open a case, contact the complainant to gather more information, and possibly schedule a site visit with the contractor and homeowner to assess any workmanship issues, if warranted.
- A copy of the complaint will be mailed to the contractor if he/she is licensed.

Licensed Contractor Complaint Outcomes

Homeowners can file complaints against licensed contractors up to **4 years** after the work has been performed.

POSSIBLE BOARD ACTIONS:

- If the Board investigator validates the homeowner's complaints during the jobsite visit, the investigator will issue a Notice to Correct to the contractor within 5 days of the jobsite visit, providing reasonable time to correct the problem(s).
- If the contractor does not adhere to the Board's Notice to Correct, a Disciplinary Hearing may be scheduled against the contractor.

HOMEOWNER RECOURSE:

Homeowners may be eligible to file a claim with the Residential Recovery Fund if they own and occupy the single-family residence where the damages were incurred.

The Recovery Fund may afford eligible homeowners up to \$40,000 in financial recourse.

Unlicensed Contractor Complaint Outcomes

Homeowners can file complaints against unlicensed contractors up to <u>2 years</u> after the work has been performed.

POSSIBLE BOARD ACTIONS:

- The Board may issue a criminal citation to the unlicensed contractor if he/she can be identified and located.
- If the project is still active, the Board may issue a Cease and Desist order.
- Once all evidence is gathered, the Board submits the case to the District Attorney for criminal prosecution.

HOMEOWNER RECOURSE:

- Homeowners are <u>not</u> eligible for the Residential Recovery Fund when work is performed by an unlicensed contractor.
- Homeowners seeking recourse can file a civil lawsuit against the unlicensed contractor.

