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Residential Recovery Fund Overview 
 
 

The Residential Recovery Fund, under certain conditions, 
provides limited monetary compensation to single-family 
homeowners in the event that they have been damaged by 
a licensed contractor’s failure to appropriately execute a 
contract and have exhausted all other means of recovery. 
 
Owners of single family residences who entered into a 
contract with a licensed residential contractor for the 
performance of construction, remodeling, repair or 
improvement and, under certain conditions, have been 
harmed by the failure of that contractor to properly perform 
qualified services may be eligible to apply for help from the 
Residential Recovery Fund.   

 
Applicants to the Recovery Fund must apply within four years after the completion or termination of 
the work.  If the applicant has obtained a judgment from a Nevada court, that applicant may apply for 
payment within two years provided certain conditions are met. 
 
A decision will be made regarding an applicant’s eligibility after an investigation conducted by the 
Nevada State Contractors Board. 
 
A single Residential Recovery Fund Claim cannot exceed $35,000 and claims against a single 
contractor cannot exceed $400,000.  The Residential Recovery Fund will not reimburse damages 
collected by other means and recovery of entire loss is not guaranteed.   
 
For more information, please see “Frequently Asked Questions About Nevada’s Residential 
Recovery Fund,” log on to the Nevada State Contractors Board’s website www.nscb.state.nv.us  or 
call your local Board office at: (702) 486-1100 or (775) 688-1141.   
 
Contractors are required by law to provide information regarding the Residential Recovery fund upon 
establishment of a residential contract.   
 
For related laws, see Nevada Revised Statutes 624.400 – 624.560. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 




